Author Topic: Editor Out of Memory  (Read 13723 times)

Heretic

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 305
  • Castle Runner
    • View Profile
Re: Editor Out of Memory
« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2013, 03:16:11 PM »
Also, I've tried after a certain point to keep my textures in the power of 2 rule, and according to that error list my hand_spikes trap 'needs to be in the power of 2'. After going through some of these .xmls I'm noticing that i AM keeping to that rule. Here is an example of one of the ones that it is saying is NOT in the powers of 2:

Code: [Select]
<doodad defaultlayer="0">

<sprite scale="16" name="closed">
<texture>doodads/trap_hand_spikes_yellow.png</texture>
<origin>16 16</origin>
<frame>0 0 32 32</frame>
</sprite>

<sprite scale="16" name="open">
<texture>doodads/trap_hand_spikes_yellow.png</texture>
<origin>16 16</origin>
<frame time="100">0 32 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">32 32 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">64 32 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">96 32 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">128 32 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">0 64 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">32 64 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">64 64 32 32</frame>
</sprite>

<sprite scale="16" name="activate">
<texture>doodads/trap_hand_spikes_yellow.png</texture>
<origin>16 16</origin>
<frame time="100">0 0 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">32 0 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">64 0 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">96 0 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">128 0 32 32</frame>
</sprite>

<sprite scale="16" name="deactivate">
<texture>doodads/trap_hand_spikes_yellow.png</texture>
<origin>16 16</origin>
<frame time="100">128 0 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">96 0 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">64 0 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">32 0 32 32</frame>
<frame time="100">0 0 32 32</frame>
</sprite>

<states default="open">
<transition from="deactivate" to="closed" />
<transition from="activate" to="open" />
</states>

</doodad>

I can't see where I'm going wrong with it?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2013, 03:30:42 PM by Pwnography »

NekoBaron

  • Posts: 124
  • Scripting Wizard
    • View Profile
Re: Editor Out of Memory
« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2013, 08:18:52 PM »
If you notice, the tilemap conflict is saying "shares same level as tilemaps/a_dirt.xml and tilemaps/a_dirt.xml - both of which are YOUR tilemap and I'm not sure how I'm supposed to fix this :/ Is it because I ahve the assets dumped into my editor folder?
Uh yeah I can imagine that would annoy the editor greatly having every asset double loaded.

I have the unpacked assets in my editor (IE editor/assets) folder which wont load them up in the editor or game.

Heretic

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 305
  • Castle Runner
    • View Profile
Re: Editor Out of Memory
« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2013, 02:39:00 PM »
I had mine in the editor/mod/assets folder so that when I wanted to directly edit the .xml through the editor it would work. I use modified versions of some original .xmls so it was much easier to have my own set of assets all in one place.

Also - the real issue at this point is the Rule of 2 which my .xmls seem to be following but the editor is flagging as an error. Does anyone know whats wrong with that xml I just pasted?

Additional question for the devs: Most of the assets listed in that error list that claim it needs to follow the rule of 2 are not even placed in the level that crashes constantly - does that matter?
« Last Edit: November 21, 2013, 03:03:13 PM by Pwnography »

Hipshot

  • Developer
  • Posts: 455
  • Level Designer
    • View Profile
Re: Editor Out of Memory
« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2013, 03:21:42 PM »
The rule of two doesn't have anything to do with the xmls, it's the pngs themselves =/
You need to resize yours to become that, the best way to do that and not cause any strange errors would be to extend them to the right and down so they becomes the right size.

16x16
32x32
64x64
128x128
256x256
512x512
1024x1024

Or 512x32 perhaps...



About all assets, there's no need to ship the level with all our assets if they are not changed, it will most likely cause issues, you extract them only to be able to see how they work and copy what we've done =)

Heretic

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 305
  • Castle Runner
    • View Profile
Re: Editor Out of Memory
« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2013, 08:41:45 PM »
The rule of two doesn't have anything to do with the xmls, it's the pngs themselves =/
You need to resize yours to become that, the best way to do that and not cause any strange errors would be to extend them to the right and down so they becomes the right size.


Okay awesome I'll start changing the images then!

Hipshot

  • Developer
  • Posts: 455
  • Level Designer
    • View Profile
Re: Editor Out of Memory
« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2013, 09:58:52 PM »
Yea, try that and don't mix your assets with the default ones extracted, that's most likely a bad idea, you don't even need to have them extracted to be honest.

Heretic

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 305
  • Castle Runner
    • View Profile
Re: Editor Out of Memory
« Reply #21 on: November 22, 2013, 01:27:23 AM »
The editor is much more stable after changing all the resource files to powers of 2. I also removed the default assets from the editor folder and any assets that I wish to reuse I will rename so that they don't conflict. The editor will still crash, but nowhere near as often and this is much more managable! :D