Author Topic: Help, how i can unpack a level?  (Read 7066 times)

Zerel96

  • Posts: 10
  • Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Help, how i can unpack a level?
« on: January 20, 2014, 04:16:03 AM »
Hello everyone. i'm making the Diablo 1: hammerwatch edition. and i thought that it was a good idea if i use the "dungeon generator" in the Diablo 1 map. but i can't use it because the map generator make de map already packed. and i was thinking in unpack the campaing made in dungeon generator and use it in the Diablo 1. but i don't have any idea how to do it. ┬┐Can somebody help me with this? Thanks ;D
PD:(Sorry for my bad english, i'm spanish xD)

MadMan

  • Posts: 96
  • Faggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Re: Help, how i can unpack a level?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2014, 04:58:20 PM »
I don't think you can unpack a .hwm map file thingy. I know that it is possible, as some people have this tool to do so.

Myran

  • Developer
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Help, how i can unpack a level?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2014, 03:20:11 PM »
You can actually do it with the regular ResourceExtractor program that's also used to unpack the assets.bin, just add the argument "map" to it, so something like:
ResourceExtractor.exe map generated.hwm

nermanater

  • Posts: 1
  • Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Re: Help, how i can unpack a level?
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2014, 01:01:35 AM »
Can anyone please help me understand in layman's terms how to "just add the argument 'map' to it". After googling argument to .exe blah blah forever I couldn't really come up w/ much other than making a shortcut and messing around w/ the target directory :  ...ResourceExtractor.exe" map mylevel.hwm

Myran

  • Developer
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Help, how i can unpack a level?
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2014, 01:21:45 AM »
Making a shortcut and changing the target directory like that is one way of doing it, so that should work fine.

ShipinShen

  • Posts: 6
  • Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Re: Help, how i can unpack a level?
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2015, 12:02:39 AM »
Hey, hope someone here is still active.. I want to unpack a .hwm file using the resource extractor, but I dont get it... how can I change the directory of a shortcut ? the extractor just opens a small console for like 0,5 sec closing it immediately

Hipshot

  • Developer
  • Posts: 453
  • Level Designer
    • View Profile
Re: Help, how i can unpack a level?
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2015, 12:28:53 PM »
Yes you can, I don't remember the command though, I'll do some research.

Hipshot

  • Developer
  • Posts: 453
  • Level Designer
    • View Profile
Re: Help, how i can unpack a level?
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2015, 02:00:38 PM »
Seems it was solved in another thread so.