Author Topic: pushable boxes?  (Read 4959 times)

Dai Tou Zai

  • Posts: 99
  • Definitely Not Blitzcrank
    • View Profile
pushable boxes?
« on: November 23, 2014, 07:27:45 PM »
Without using triggers can you make a pushable box just by using the XML coding?
No i'm not blitzcrank, stop asking me.

dingoZero

  • Posts: 50
  • Dingovania
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2014, 08:44:30 PM »
You have to make it a creature and use a toggle invulnerability script.

Dai Tou Zai

  • Posts: 99
  • Definitely Not Blitzcrank
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2014, 09:09:32 PM »
You have to make it a creature and use a toggle invulnerability script.
im guessing have it set as stationary too?
No i'm not blitzcrank, stop asking me.

Phantom

  • Posts: 63
  • Dungeoneer
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2014, 07:13:41 AM »
I think you might get an idea if you check out the Requiem for Hammerwatch campaign, there's some NPCs that are pushable in the beginning area.

dingoZero

  • Posts: 50
  • Dingovania
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2014, 08:48:18 PM »
im guessing have it set as stationary too?

No movement, no attacks.

prophet

  • Posts: 21
  • Invader
    • View Profile
    • My Steam Workshop
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2014, 01:12:15 PM »
No need for any of that, just use <collision static="false"> and anything will be pushable.

dingoZero

  • Posts: 50
  • Dingovania
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2014, 06:26:33 PM »
No need for any of that, just use <collision static="false"> and anything will be pushable.

Right, but then you can't do other cool things with the move ai script when you want to.

Dai Tou Zai

  • Posts: 99
  • Definitely Not Blitzcrank
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2014, 07:39:54 PM »
Thanks guys, anybody know if its possible to make a collision that only effects the boxes though?
No i'm not blitzcrank, stop asking me.

dingoZero

  • Posts: 50
  • Dingovania
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2014, 01:25:02 AM »
As far as I know, no.

Heretic

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 305
  • Castle Runner
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2014, 07:55:42 AM »
Something to note with this pushing - it doesn't mirror on all clients. So if its single player, push mechanics are fine, but for multiplayer or coop it won't mirror on the other players' screens. Myran knows how to explain it better

Hipshot

  • Developer
  • Posts: 453
  • Level Designer
    • View Profile
Re: pushable boxes?
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2014, 11:44:58 AM »
Yea, also strange bugs can occur, you can see it when you play the desert campaign, that sometimes some coins get stuck for the server but not the client and vise versa.