Author Topic: Hit-Triggers for Levers  (Read 4612 times)

KptnKook

• Immersive or DIE!!!!!
    • View Profile
Hit-Triggers for Levers
« on: August 20, 2013, 03:28:54 PM »
Hey,

It seems that you can only check for a hit on defined breakables and enemies, but not on object like the trigger-lever..
What i would want, would be a hit area, so that the player can toggle levers on purpose by hit.

is there any other way, than creating a fully transparent breakable, and place it on top of the lever? if there is a nicer solution i would be glad to hear it. thanks for suggestions.

btw. which scriptline is defining an object as "hitable"? maybe i can add the line to the lever?

thanks!

Psyborg

• Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Re: Hit-Triggers for Levers
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2013, 03:37:38 PM »
I'm still really new at this and don't fully understand pretty much anything yet...

But, I created a secret room in my level by attaching a "ObjectEventTrigger" (OnHit) to a doodad, so when that doodad is hit, it destroys that doodad and spawns another doodad using "SpawnObject" that instead of being a wall, is the destroyed wall. I know you can do this with stages, but I'm not a good enough artist to create different stages of damage in my custom wall.

There's probably an easier and more direct way of doing this, but this is how I let the player hit a wall and open a passage...I'm pretty sure you could apply this to a trigger_button_wall doodad also, you'd just have to link the ObjectEventTrigger to a ChangeDoodadState I believe.

KptnKook

• Immersive or DIE!!!!!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2013, 03:58:17 PM »
I simply took a breakable wall and put it over the lever. after that I hid the wall with "HideObject".
the area is now hitable and therefore checkable for hits. everytime this invisible wall gets hit, the lever under it toggles.